Early Elementary Level

Elementary I

This level targets children in the first grades of elementary school. Taking into account the fact that these children already face the challenge of learning literacy for their first language, the ‘Rebooting’ application for this level focuses mainly on oral communication and introduces the Greek alphabet. Each module corresponds to a specific complex communication task, through which the learners proceed gradually.

Heroes of the Disk Teaser Trailer

Pilot Episode

Episode 2 - Acropolis Museum

Theme Concept

The learning experience for this particular level is mainly story-driven. Progress in the application unlocks a series of cartoon episodes, corresponding to the modules of the level. Assets, learning material and the learner experience are based on the same concept of the cartoon series.

The theme of the cartoon series, “Heroes of the Disk”, has a theme that is relatable to children of the particular age and which incorporates ideas and concepts that combine elements of popular cartoon series with Greek cultural and historical references. The aim of the series is to create motivation for the learners, as well as reconnecting them with their cultural heritage.

The main characters of the cartoon series are three siblings, members of a Greek family in the Diaspora, visiting Greece for the summer. Upon their arrival, they discover a magic disk, which gives them supernatural powers, including the ability to speak Greek fluently. The story arc incorporates a gang of smugglers, who want to steal Greek artifacts, whose plans are thwarted every time by the three little heroes.

In addition to their role in building and reinforcing learner motivation, these cartoon episodes constitute a language resource and a learning material, exposing the students to a language-rich experience while providing the context for the presentation of a complex task, which is the object of the particular module.

Level Curriculum

  1. Introducing myself (greetings – having a small dialogue – asking names and telling your name – asking and telling the age)
  2. Describing persons (describing physical appearance – comparing physical characteristics – talking about emotions)
  3. My family (describing your family – describing family members – asking about someone’s family – talking about professions of family members)
  4. Weather and clothing (identifying and describing what people are wearing – describing the weather/season – giving advice about what clothing/accessories should be worn based on the weather)
  5. At the zoo (describing animals – comparing animals – asking questions about animals – describing animal habitats)
  6. My room (describing somebody’s room – talking about activities done in the room – describing items – describing the location of an item)
  7. My day (telling the time – describing daily routines – describing habits and talking about frequency)
  8. Food (describing a meal – talking about likes and dislikes – giving and asking nutritional advice – talk about things you must or you must not do)